Skip to content
November 29, 2016 / subramanyam

Dawn At Dusk :: My Take


The winds of change are sweeping this planet.  The constant change and the resultant flux are indeed having a huge impact on our lives.  The way we look at our lives is changing, and the way the relationships are being built and the lens through which they are being analyzed are also changing.  In his latest work “Dawn At Dusk,” Gaurav Sharma does a bold experiment of sorts by speaking about an entirely different relationship.  While the relationship of that sort is not unheard of,  it resembles the changing attitudes and lifestyles of the society.   Here is the blurb of the book.

Yet to go through an ordeal, the millionaire scion Aradhaya is much-cossetted only-son of

dawn_at_dusk

Dawn At Dusk

Talukdars.

Suddenly, his life gets upended when he loses his parents and is deceived by the girl he marries. In his attempt to overcome, he falls for Sambhavi, who is a renowned writer and professor, because he sees her as the shadow of his mother.

Sambhavi lays her condition. Aradhaya gives up too soon. Distraught, he leaves his house in search of peace and starts a life of a recluse among the people with little means and ambitions until his love for Sambhavi guides and inspires him to do something extraordinary. What does he do? What course does his life take? Does Sambhavi accept him?

 Let’s hear Aradhaya’s story.

It’s Aradhya who tells us the story.  We get to hear the entire story from his and only his perspective.  As the blurb says, this gentleman loses his parents, is deceived by his wife and takes solace in education.  Whom does he meet here and what are the twists and turns of his life are the things you ought to read from the book.

What did I like in the book?

1. The style of writing is good and easy to read; I completed the book in  3 hours.  I would not say that it is unputdownable, but it arouses the interest of the reader and keeps him/her glued to the book.

2.  I have always loved Gaurav’s characters.  Whether it was Sushil in “Love At AirForce,”  or  Akriti in “Rape Scars… They Never Heal…”  the way these characters were etched and sketched was awesome.  In this book, Sambhavi and Aradhya were awesome.  Sambhavi, in particular, comes out as a very strong and unyielding woman with high expectations from herself.  I liked the way the author created the character.  It is only natural that central characters are brought to life with great care and thought.  However, in this book I loved the way Meera was portrayed.   To me, this is the brilliance of the author.  Meera is not central to the story, but then she is not one the reader would ever forget.  Kudos to Gaurav Sharma on the job well done.

3.  I loved the poetry aspect of the book.  Isn’t it interesting that Kalidasa, the famed

gauravsharma

Gaurav Sharma — The Author

Sanskrit poet becomes the cornerstone of the relationship between 2 students of English Language?  To me that was incredible.  I also loved the poems, the couplets and the quotes the protagonists of the book share.  I enjoyed them.

4.  Gaurav’s English seems to go a notch higher with every book he writes.  He flaunts his vocabulary in this book; it was an enriching experience for me as I got to learn many new words while reading the book.

5. I fell for some of the profound observations that come up in the conversations between the characters.  I loved those quotes and in fact went on to underline some of them.

What could have gone better?

1. The book was amazing the till I reached the 120th page.  From there I started feeling a slump.  Somehow the book that was seeming very natural and close to heart was losing that sheen.  I felt that the second part could have been improved a lot.

2.  Coming to the struggle of Aradhya Talukdar, I felt that he could have done more.  What he does and achieves in the book are good and great.  However, the reader yearns for more given the determination that the protagonist displays in the earlier sections of the book.

3. I felt that the book could do good with a few more chapters.  This was a complaint I had with   Gaurav’s previous book “The RapeScars” too.    Gaurav Ji, if you are reading this review, please increase the length of your books.   You pick good plots, and there is no harm in going beyond 200 pages.

One Note — My personal Bias.

I am a conservative person, and I cannot accept a love story between a student and a teacher.  It does not matter whether the teacher is a male or a female, I just cannot accept a romantic relationship between a student and a teacher.  I don’t have any trouble with men marrying women who are older than them.  However,  I have trouble when teachers get involved in a romantic relationship with students.  I rever the position of a teacher and I firmly believe that the teachers must always be kept on the high pedestal.  I firmly believe that learning happens well when students love their teachers with reverence in their minds.  When romance enters the block, I somehow feel that learning takes a hit.  Gaurav Sharma, the author of the book, is a teacher himself, so I am no one to speak to him in this regard.  However, and I could not resist myself  from stating my personal view in this regard.

Conclusion

 I like Gaurav Sharma for the way he chooses his subjects and writes his novels. This time he tried to depict the complex human relations and  he stirs the human inside us.  He yearns to create a stir inside us and does that job very well in this book.  The simple language and ease with which he communicates keeps us glued to his work.  The poetry, the profound quotes, the deescription of nature, the language and the flow and  the way he makes the characters interact are all awesome.  Do pick the book.  In fact, I would strongly recommend you pick the works of Gaurav Sharma.  The perspectives you get from this author are amazing.

Leave a Reply

