Skip to content
December 14, 2015 / subramanyam

The Divine Command :: My Take


Chitra Banerjee took me to West Bengal and Amitav Ghosh ensured that I would stay there for some time.  I would have picked up another book by a Bengali author if not for the amazing reviews on Amazon for an amazing

comeback warrior.
Chitra Banerjee took me to West Bengal and Amitav Ghosh ensured that I would stay there for some time.  I would have picked up another book by a Bengali author if not for the amazing reviews on Amazon for an amazing comeback warrior.

Yes, it was my usual buying time in amazon and I was searching for books by Indian Authors, I got to the suggestion “The Divine Command (Comeback Warrior Trilogy Book 1)” from Amazon.  I checked the reviews over there and it was the reviews that made me pick the book.

Here is the trailer of Saranya Umakanthan’s book.  Which again was intriguing enough for me to pick the book.

Here is the blurb of the book.
The divine command was from Lord Shiva. So Shaktipurians would do anything to safeguard the ‘Taal-Patras’ — the ultimate secrets compiled onto palm-leaves by the yogis that contained everything! Yes, all the do’s and don’ts from making of the elixir to reviving the dead!

This task was headed by their beloved warrior Indrajith. But destiny brutallythe divine command destroyed their plans! Their toughest braveheart was to perish in a bloody dual. This ill-fated episode prompted the rise of the nefarious king of Narakdesh — Asurshasak!

Desperate, Shaktipurians recited the revival slokas on the dead grave of their only hope…

Would Indrajith emerge and come back stronger than before? And if he comes back, who is waiting for him now with a pole arm in her hands and protruding teeth?

With black-magic obstacles barring his way, the comeback warrior — Suraj Sena is shaken when the conspirator rips off the mask! But traitors never go unpunished!

What did I like in the book?

A very nice effort that transports us to a completely different world.  The plot and the story are very very original and that’s very refreshing.  Saranya creates a world where black is black and white is white.  The story line is intriguing and while we can guess a few things we still are in for some interesting twists and turns.  I loved the twist I saw with Saptanshu in particular.

The way the characters evolve in the book too deserves an applause,  you have men and women on both sides of morality.  While both the protagonist and the antagonist are male. We see strong women on both sides.   I liked Diya’s character in particular.  I liked the way she starts her

Saranya Umakanthan

The Author — Saranya Umakanthan

journey and the way she evolves as the story progresses.

I completed the book in 3 hours (almost read it at a stretch) and did not feel any drag, I think that’s amazing  from an author’s perspective as this is the first work of this author.  When you have a strong story line, it shows and the person reading the book will be glued to it.

I did feel that the author could have used names that the people can pronounce a little more easily.  She could have also given us a peek  into the persona of the antagonist.  We know he is evil, but then what prompted him to become the man he became, what was his personal life? What were the incidents that brought out the worst in that man.  I think that would have really added a lot of value to the book.

All in all, a book that you would not want to put down in case you love reading fantasy.  Do pick the book when you have time.  As for me, I am waiting for the next book in the “The Come Back Warrior” Trilogy.
Happy Reading

Leave a Reply

