Skip to content
September 27, 2015 / subramanyam

Half Girlfriend :: My take


After 3 non-fiction books back to back, I felt like shifting gears.    After reading about the militants in Kashmir, the naxals in Bastar and other problems that we need to tackle in order to make India  an Awesome nation, I wanted to read something light hearted again. I got back to fiction.  Chetan Bhagat’s “Making India Awesome” rubbed on me and I picked another work of his.  Here is the blurb of the book.

Once upon a time, there was a Bihari boy called Madhav. He fell in love with a rich girl from Delhi called Riya. Madhav didntchetan (1) speak English well. Riya did. Madhav wanted a relationship. Riya didn’t. Riya just wanted friendship. Madhav didn’t. Riya suggested a compromise. She agreed to be his half-girlfriend.

Well another run of the mill from Chetan Bhagat, definitely not some thing unputdownable or so.  Nevertheless, a love story that has the rich -poor, urban-rural and the class -crass conflicts in it.

What did I like ?

Few thoughts that Chetan tries to bring through Madhav are good. The answer Madhav gives to the interviewer was good.  I really liked the answer as it resonated with me. The speech Madhav makes in the school is  also very good.   The protagonist seemed to have a clear understanding of where he wants to go in his life and this seemed to be a welcome shift.   I did not see it in the past books (that I read) of Chetan Bhagat and I liked it when I saw it.  Chetan Bhagat’s writing is a big hit due to his simplistic style of writing, he continues that in this book as well.

The troubles and travails of the rural students of India also came out well.   I liked the  “Equality of Opportunity” idea.

What I did not like ?

The story sounds too superficial. At times it would even sound as if Chetan bhagat was writing this with a film in mind. The plot becomes predictable at some point of time and this could have been avoided.  Then I did not really get as to why the book  was titled “Half Girlfriend”.  Some how I did not get the connection between the title and the book.

Conclusion.

Nice book, some thing that you read for pleasure reading.  In my opinion, this book is certainly better than Chetan’s previous works like “Revolution 2020” and “Three mistakes of my life”. At the same time this is not something that’s better than his hall mark work “2 states”.  In essence not an outstanding work or something but a love story that’s worth a read.

Image source : teluguone.com

Leave a Reply

