Skip to content
December 30, 2014 / subramanyam

Retro of 2014


The fourth one in a row!!!! As you all know,  for the past three years  I have been doing a retrospective analysis of the happenings of the year that has gone by  in my personal  and professional life and am posting it on this blog.  Here comes the one for the fourth year.

As ever let me start with the standard disclaimer. This post, another retro of my life, might drive you nuts as it has no important info other than the good bad and ugly of Subbu in 2014. Hence think twice and act wise before you continue reading .

2014 has been another good and eventful year for me. I witnessed some moments of joy that come rarely in a life time, had days when I was filled with frustration, had days on which my joy knew no bounds and also had days that taught me a lesson or two. Then, I did  have the regular average 9 hour work days which form the majority and ensure that I have food on the table.

Good Habit I started this year :

 Not too many good habits in this year, but yeah I am indeed prioritizing things in a much better way and have become more health conscious.  So I am conscious about what I am eating , creating good to-do lists and finishing more than 60% of the activities on time and then am making some conscious efforts to spend more time with loved ones and family. The time I spend on T.V. too is coming down .

I am also taking time to read more non-fiction and this to me is a considerable improvement.

Old habits that persist:

Laziness, procrastination and talkativeness.. I am improving on them but then again leaps and bounds to cover.

Actually making progress on Procrastination too, but talkativeness is some thing I really am unable to control.

 Moment of the Year :

 The best thing, Goddess Lakshmi came home in the form of my daughter.   Watching your kid grow is one of the biggest joys of life and am experiencing it. It comes with its price and consumes it’s own good time of yours , but no qualms. One smile from her and the happiness flows.

Good things that happened to me :

 Life is teaching me a lesson or two about family life and the responsibilities. Learning it in my own way and own pace.

With His grace I was able to complete my EPBM from IIM-Calcutta.   14 months of studying and not having anything like the weekends or fun, it was indeed taxing but helped me a good deal with learning. Happy that I could complete it with good grades.

Those few days I spent in IIM Calcutta campus.   I would never forget those beautiful days and all the fun and learning I had there. What’s more, I got to speak there in one of the sessions. I could not have asked for more.

I had been out of touch with ToastMasters for quite some time and then tried my hand at a new genre of speeches this year.   People received them well and supported me in every way possible.   Indebted to all TM friends . I was lucky enough to go till the area level in a few contests.

The best of all these TM contests is the one that happened in August, that day  my wife drove 40 KM just to watch me speak and support me. I am lucky to have someone who supports me like that.

Went to the Stadium to watch an ODI between India and Sri Lanka, this was something I always wanted to do.  However, I could never go and see a match in a stadium.  Happy that I could do it this year.

 The Best of All the good things that happened to me .

My brother (cousin) came and stayed in my place for a few months. I am the only child of my parents and never had a sibling, so having someone in the home and sharing that joy was real good.

Reading :

          I completed a decent set of books this year,

  • The One Minute Manager
  • The Devils Gate
  • Gulabi
  • The other Side
  • Love @Airforce
  • The Taj Conspiracy
  • The Hunt for Kohinoor
  • A Thousand Splendid suns
  • The Kite Runner
  • The Prophecy of Trivine
  • Sita’s Curse
  • House of Cards
  • The Silicon Mind
  • Private India
  • The One you Cannot have
  • God is a gamer
  • The Mahabharata Secret
  • Aavarana
  • Adultery
  • Cat O’ Nine Tales
  • Tipu Sultan :: The Tyrant of Mysore
  • May I hebb your attension pliss
  • The Mouse Charmers
  • I moved your cheese
  • Human Shastra
  • The Crossover
  • Ramayana :: Rise of the Sun Prince
  • The Accidental Prime Minister
  • Marvels and Mysteries of MahaBharata
  • A Stranger to History
  • Durbar
  • Narendra Modi by Swami Paripoornaananda (Telugu)
  • Kollayikattitenemi (Telugu)
  • Sivudu (Telugu)
  • Model (Telugu)
  • Athadu aamenu jayinchaadu (Telugu)
  • Kalikaalayam (Telugu)
  • Kamkaala Loya (Telugu)
  • Kalyana Tilakam (Telugu)
  • Software Itihaasyam (Telugu)
  • Pellantune Vedekkinde gaali (Telugu)

 I enjoyed reading most of them. In fact I could finish reading them as I was using public transport to commute to my office. It takes me an hour and a half to reach to my work place and so I used this time to read as I travel in the bus/train. Some of these books have had an indelible impact on me.  Ramayana :: Rise of the Sun Prince, A stranger to history, A Thousand Splendid Suns, Aavarana and Tipu Sultan the tyrant of Mysore are some of the books I would never forget in my life. Again, I just could not read some of the books that I bought/got for reviews. I hated one of those books. Overall, I did do a decent reading is what I believe.  I could not write reviews for all of them. Particularly the ones I read in my mother tongue. I wrote reviews for the books which did come to me for a review. For the rest I wrote a review whenever I got time.

Professional life :

After a 2 year 8 month stint in CSC, I shifted gears again and moved to Zeta Interactive.   Again out of my comfort zone and this time with more responsibilities to handle and a fantastic learning experience. Let me see as to how I can handle this .

Blogging :

The number of blog posts I wrote this year went up. This year I had more book reviews but also had posts on other things, that is something to cheer about. This year was better than the last year and I wish to continue it the next year too.  The good points that still stand out are that I was asked to review more books.  I really enjoyed it.

Things that gave a lot of satisfaction :

  1. Trying my hand at fiction and staying up the whole night just to write those 1000+ words.
  2. When a few authors came back and thanked me for the reviews I did for their books.
  3. I wrote this article on AP bifurcation and posted it on FB. I did not expect that it would connect to so many people.  The response was really over whelming.
  4. The moment when TDP won in AP and BJP won in the country. I felt happy as I had my own little role to play in this grand scheme of things.

Most embarrassing moment :

Was caught napping in an important meeting, did not like it at all.

 Things I did not like about myself:

                A copy paste from last year

         Poor planning for things, that kept me in tight spot quite a number of times.  Then, using office time for personal work. I improved the pace at which I work in the office, but I am sure that’s not enough. I am gradually losing touch with friends, the time I am giving for family is also coming down . Good that my family is really supporting me in all my endeavors else I would have been in a spot now. Again no exercise, no food discipline, added many pounds this year ….. the list simply  goes on…. I wish to correct most of them next year , lets see what 2015 has in store for me.

 

Wishing  one and all a very happy new year 2015.

 

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. haritha / Dec 30 2014 10:09 pm

    The time you are at home is considerably good than the time you spend with your family because, when you are at home, you either stick on to TV, laptop, newspaper or in the worst case mobile. If you can cut down those, I think every thing would go well. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

